The museum and the old Montecatini mine
Attention: path temporarily closed for maintenance work!
A short but interesting walk, which can be connected to a visit to the 19th-century copper mine and, of course, the extraordinary medieval village. You start out right in front of the remains of the mine’s main extraction shaft, Pozzo Alfredo, whose tower dominates the mining area and offers one of the most spectacular views of the Cecina Valley. The history of the medieval town of Montecatini Val di Cecina is linked to its copper mine, which gave its name to one of the largest industries of the 20th century: Montecatini S.p.A., later Montedison, although the Etruscans were the first to exploit the area’s abundant natural resources.
The mining complex tells the story of the men, their industriousness and courage. The restored mining village, still partly inhabited today, adds a special charm to the visit, which is further boosted on a unique charm during the night-time opening. The walk through the village further enriches the visit to the mine and leads us to observe a work of extraordinary beauty, the Muraglione dam, built in 1856 for the needs of the mine but never used.
The dam is part of a project to upgrade six historic dams in Italy, and most of it is in the middle of the vegetation and with panoramic viewpoints towards the sea and the valley, this itinerary is a “must-walk” for everyone at any time of the year.